GET TO KNOW: CAMILA

Hi and welcome to our first ever series of blog posts! We’ve decided to kick off MILLENNIAL TRANSCRIPTS by introducing ourselves through these series of questions which  we felt would give you some insight into our personalities. Hope you enjoy.

 

1) WHEN DID YOU START WRITING?

I went to a rigorous but creative school in London which gave me time to create whether it was writing, painting or playing. Somewhere within those formative first years in education I started to write and plough through thick collection of kids stories stocked in our library. Everything evolved from that, but I also found respite in keeping a diary and a stack of lined A4 exercise books where pages and pages of not-so-short stories inspired by the cartoon shows I watched at the time accumulated with my hyper-active imagination.

2) WHAT MOTIVATES YOU TO WRITE?

Over the past few years I’ve immersed myself into trying my best to know about what’s going on around the world constantly through newspapers, columns and opinions in writing. I assume that my passion for political and social issues has ignited a re-focus within my writing as I have come to appreciate how vital journalism is as a writing platform globally, inspiring a series of my own opinion and thought pieces in response to the articles and information that I began to collect in my own mind and form opinions on. For me, I want my writing -whether it be a short story, poem, song or article- to provoke a pensive reflection from the reader which is all I can truly ask of anybody. I don’t expect my views to be agreed with, but if whilst reading somebody is able to engage with my points and at least reflect on them to gain an honest insight to one side of a collection of stories, I’ve done what I set out to do.

3) DESCRIBE YOUR FAVOURITE SONG AND WHY YOU LIKE IT.

Colored Emotions // Night Moves gets me every single time.

It sounds like what I’d imagine riding through a neon-lit archway of palm trees during a warm sunset in a convertible with the roof down and  hair swaying in the breeze. I don’t know how they gave it such an orchestral yet psychedelic edge, but the production of that one song is in itself masterful and I love the bittersweet folk creeping into the bridge and John Pelant’s piercing vocals roaring emotion (see what I did there) as the song climaxes into psychedelic euphoria. I’ve listened to the song routinely for the past three years and to this day am unsure of the lyrics minus the odd decipherable words or phrases. There’s something quite magical in just about getting a taste of the message of a song and letting it roam with your own interpretations. I’m tempted to ask them for the lyrics but this is about as much as I can understand for now:

Don’t say well it’s just as you call it emotion

All night but it’s just as they call it emotion

‘Cus its the feeling that I’m getting it’s over and it just starts to rise/rain (?)

Given the other few words I can scramble from the fuzzed vocals, I’ve interpreted this song to be about the feeling of believing you’re “in love” whilst on some strong hallucinogenics but truly knowing deep down inside that it’s just a heightened emotion thanks to some colourful drugs. I’ll be sure to ask when I see them in January!

4) DO YOU ENJOY SCHOOL?

I have nothing more than love, respect and admiration for the staff (particularly my teachers) that keep our education system running at all odds against cuts and budget restrictions. I thrive in a learning environment and crave to learn more about whatever I can get my hands on and love a lesson environment. Saying that, I am disappointed and in all truthfulness ashamed of the politics involved in the running of a grammar school and really wish that those running it would think of it less as a constant opportunity to make an example of grammar schools’ legacy to churn out A*s like enslaved factory workers and perhaps remember that we are all young adults  and not an exploitative devices to make a political statement within the depths of corruption.

5) FAVOURITE SEASON?

Summer!

sunset rides

A post shared by CAMILA FLORENCIA (@fatwhitebourgeoisie) on

6) FAVOURITE POEM?

In all honesty my breadth of poetry is rather shabby in comparison to other forms of literature, however I’ll go choose them in no particular order:

  • Still I Rise // Maya Angelou
  • Bitter Fruit // Abel Meeropol
  • Howl  (particularly the footnote) & A Supermarket in California // Allen Ginsberg

7) FAVOURITE AUTHOR?

Shirley Jackson. I could go on for days, but for your own sake I’ll save my proclamation of appreciation for another day.

8) WHAT’S YOUR GO-TO LOOK?

A full black outfit, head to toe with a colour saturated eye or lip look. Colour co-ordination is a luxury to be purchased with time I don’t have in the mornings.

9) WHERE DO YOU WANT TO TRAVEL TO IN THE FUTURE?

Emily and I will be embarking on an unsupervised student trip to Moscow and St. Petersburg in the summer of 2017 inspired by our History A-level studies of Communism in the 20th Century so that’s ticked a massive box off of the bucket list. Besides Russia, I’d love to go backpacking through South America and see the countries I’ve dreamt of exploring for however many years.

I’ve been lucky enough to visit many countries and continents thanks to my retired grandmother who worked her entire life to be able to travel at a later stage. Despite this, I’ve noticed how many times when I travel with family I never really explore outside of a tourist’s bubble so I think a trip back to San Francisco and Miami are well on the list alongside a first-time discovery of New York which I can only imagine would inevitably lead to me never coming back home. I know from experience that I am able to immerse myself much more when I’m running on my own agenda, hence why I’m planning to travel to Russia with a close group of friends next year.

10) IF YOU WERE TO CREATE A PIECE OF ART, WHAT WOULD IT BE ABOUT AND WHY?

Identity; it’s vague yet we all have one that’s unique to us all. I think that’s a pretty fascinating start point. I’ve painted, sung, composed, performed and written before, but I would really love the chance to create my own piece of performance art. To me it feels as though a lot of the time intimacy and honest or abstracted expression of honesty can be misinterpreted as pretentious or an act of vanity. In performance art it’s intrinsically impossible to not include yourself into whatever message you convey. I don’t see an issue within that but I suppose it’s not everybody’s cup of tea. Perhaps I’ve seen one too many performance art piece by Marina Abramović and have gotten myself swept away by my own imagination.

11) WHO’S YOUR INSPIRATION?

The only proper way I can answer this question without answering is to provide my own analogy of a beautifully decorated plate. The plate is exquisite and you can certainly draw inspiration from it, but if you were to drop and shatter it would the larger chunks give you any more inspiration than the other smaller fragments? Wouldn’t it be useless given the lack of context or ability to appreciate not just one appealing corner but the collectivised image of completion of all of these fragments collected and ordered into sense?

Answering this question with a singular name would be disrespectful to the thousands of fleeting moments shared with strangers whose name I will never learn or have long since forgotten. I’m a firm believer that 10 brief yet meaningful encounters are worth more than one long-lasting yet bland one.

-Words by Camila Florencia.

Leave a Reply

